AWIU Internationalism Award Winners

The AWIU Internationalism Award is presented to individuals who have addressed concerns and issues facing women worldwide. The commitment and work of the individuals have set them apart by every standard.

Recipients have exhibited international support for women’s issues and contributed to worldwide understanding, raised awareness of global concerns, and fostered and encouraged cross-cultual dialogue. The Internationalism Award is presented annually at the International Women of Courage Celebration.

Harriet Fulbright

The American Women for International Understanding is honored to announce that the 2016 Internationalism Award recipient is Mrs. Harriet. M. FulbrightMrs. Harriet Mayor Fulbright is president of the J. William & Harriet Fulbright Center, a non-profit organization which serves to advance the work of Mrs. Fulbright’s late husband, Senator J. William Fulbright, and to continue her own lifework. She served as an unofficial ambassador for the 50th anniversary of the Fulbright Program and in that capacity traveled to numerous countries on all five major continents and throughout the United States to speak about the importance of international educational exchange and the pivotal role played by the Fulbright Program. To read Mrs. Fulbright’s complete bio, please click here. 

Previous AWIU Internationalism Award Winners


Laurie Garrett

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Investigative Journalist, Best-Selling Author, and Senior Fellow for Global Health at the Council on Foreign Affairs


Melanne Verveer

First U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues and Founding Director, Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and  Security


Marie Thérèse Royce

Security Senior Director International Public Affairs, Alcatel-Lucent


Cathy McMorris Rodgers 

U.S. Congresswoman, 5th District, Washington


Donna F. Edwards

U.S. Congresswoman, 4th District, Washington


The Honorable Bonnie McElveen-Hunter

Former U.S. Ambassador to Finland and Founder and CEO of
Pace Communications


Laura W. Bush

Former First Lady of the United States


Doris Buffett

Founder and President, Sunshine Lady Foundation