2017 IWOC Celebration


We are honored to announce that the 

  2017 IWOC Celebration will be held in Los Angeles

Location: Jonathan Club DTLA

Date: April 6, 2017

Click Here for Event Registration 

Click here for the 2017 International Women of Courage who will be honored at the Celebration

“Economies cannot prosper and countries cannot be free unless women are treated with the dignity and respect they deserve. That was as true in 2006 when we created this award as it is today.  Together [the International Women of Courage] represent the leading edge of the women’s empowerment movement and are an inspiration to us all.”

Former Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice, Founder of the IWOC Award, in a message to the 2016 IWOCs

In collaboration with the US Department of State Office of Global Women’s Issues, AWIU welcomes women of undeniable courage who travel to the United States to accept the Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage Award. Efforts to highlight both the issues and the work of these leaders is paramount to empowering women as they work to advance the rights of women and girls, and in so doing, the rights of entire families. Each of the International Women of Courage is given a grant from AWIU to assist and further support her mission. AWIU is an apolitical, nonpartisan organization whose core values underscore the importance of citizen diplomacy and cross cultural communication on the world’s stage.


mellody-hobson-240x300This year, our International Women of Courage Celebration will be held in downtown Los Angeles at the Jonathan Club on April 6, 2017. Our Honorary Chair of the 2017 IWOC Celebration is Mellody Hobson. 





AWIU is pleased to announce that Anita L. DeFrantz will receive the 2017 AWIU Internationalism Award. An Olympic medalist, she is being recognized for her commitment to advocating international exchange and peace through sports.  Ms. DeFrantz is an Executive Board Member of the International Olympic Committee, former President of the LA84 Foundation, and Senior Advisor for Legacy to LA2024.

For information about becoming a Patron of the International Women of Courage Celebration and to purchase individual tickets, click here

For Information about becoming a Sponsor of the International Women of Courage Awards, please click here. 



2017 Global Leadership Sponsor

AWIU salutes Deloitte for its 7th consecutive year
as lead sponsor for
The International Women of Courage Celebration



Many Thanks to our generous Sponsors and Patrons  for 2017

Freedom and Equality
The Walt Disney Company
Wells Fargo
Madvi Raya

Empowerment Through Education
Nancy Annick * Martha A. Atherton
Susan Chandler Carol Lewis * Onma Lwin * Cynthy Moffatt
Maggie Sabbag * Jane Mursener Wetzel

Women for Others
UCLA Anderson Graduate School of Management
U.S. News & World Report
Lian Dolan * Roxi Goin * Sherry Lee Mueller * Sonia Singla * Sarah Rice Shelton

Opening Doors
Dr. Julie Armstrong * Marilyn Beth Dresser * Diane Mitchell Henry
Susan Lee-Yeh * Kathleen LeRoy *  Carol Robertson Lopez  * Annette Madden
Diane M. McGlinchey * Barbara Rubio * Mary Schammel
Maria Emmi Schory *  Inez Parker Sharp * Carol Anne Warren

Awareness and Appreciation
Suzanne M. Barnes  *  The Giulioni Family * Ann Horton
Judith Johnson * Lisa Hinchliffe Link * Joan Graham Poulos * Carrie Walker

With great appreciation, thank you to
The Mitchell Family

as of March 12, 2017






To see the complete list of 2016 International Women of Courage honorees, please click here. 

For highlights of the 2015 International Women of Courage Celebration, please click here.